Skip to main content

ESMINT was inaugurated on August 21, 2009, by the founding members:

  • Prof. J. Byrne (represented by M. Iliopoulos)
  • Prof. J. Fiehler
  • Prof. D. Rüfenacht

Dr. A. Notter was the notary present. The first ESMINT Congress was held in Nice in 2009 and the constitution of the society was agreed at that time.

The first Executive Board comprised Prof. J. Moret (President), Prof. J. Byrne (General Secretary), Prof. D. Rüfenacht (Treasurer) and M. Iliopoulos (Executive Director).

The membership has grown from less than 100 European physicians to over 500, whom the society now serves. The Executive Committee comprises the Executive Board (last elected in 2018) and the Chairs of the Standing Executive Committees (last elected in 2017).