Skip to main content

Work Experience

  • 2022- present Professor of open and endovascular neurosurgery, Radboud university medical center, Nijmegen.
  • 2010-present Consultant Neurosurgeon. Radboud university medical center, Nijmegen, Specialty: vascular and endovascular neurosurgery, endoscopy.
  • 2009-2010 Fellow vascular and endovascular neurosurgery, Radboud university medical center, Nijmegen.
  • 2013-present Director of Quality Registry NeuroSurgery. (Since 2019: SKN: Stichting Kwaliteit Neurochirurgie)
Jeroen Boggarts is part of the ExCom.

Education & Qualifications

  • 2021 Awarded junior Principal Investigator, Radboud university medical center, Nijmegen 2022-2027.
  • 2018-present Teaching in Higher Education; University Teaching Qualification (UTQ) (Basis kwalificatie onderwijs; BKO)
  • 2017 Registered Clinical Epidemiologist (Epidemioloog B).
  • 2016 Ph.D. Thesis: Quality of Care for Aneurysmal Subarachnoid hemorrhage, From theoretical considerations to practical implementations.
  • 2009-2010 Pierre Lasjaunias European Course of Diagnostic and Interventional Neuroradiology (ECNR).
  • 2003-2008 Resident in Neurosurgery, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen Medisch Centrum, Prof. J.A. Grotenhuis.
  • 2007-2008 Master in NeuroVascular Diseases. Université Paris Sud-Faculté de Médecine de Bicêtre & Mahidol University, Ramathibodi and Siriraj Medical Schools. Prof. P. Lasjaunias, S. Pongpech, S. Suthipongchai.
  • 2006-2008 Master Clinical Epidemiology. NIHES (Netherlands Institute for Health Sciences), Rotterdam, Prof. A. Hofman.
  • 2001-2003 Resident Neurosurgery, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen, Medisch Centrum, Prof. J.A. Grotenhuis.
  • 2001 Intern Internal medicine / cardiology Lorenz ziekenhuis Zeist. Drs P. Gallas.
  • 1994-2000 Master in Medicine, Medical school, Utrecht University, Utrecht.
  • 1993-2001 Master in Musicology, Utrecht University, Utrecht, Specialty Medieval Music, Prof. C. Vellecoop.


  • Hands-on training in systematic review of animal studies, 2019.
  • Basic Course for Clinical Investigators (BROK course), 2014.
  • Acute Ischemic Stroke Revascularization Learning Centre Course, Hamburg, 2013.
  • AVM embolization course, Paris, 2013.
  • Reshape accademy masterclass (Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen), 2012.
  • Teach the teacher (Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen), 2011.
  • Radiation course (Stralingsdeskundige (4A/M)) (Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen), 2009.
  • European Microvascular Training Course for Neurosurgeons (Heinrich-Heine
    University, Düsseldorf, Germany), 2008.
  • Endovascular Stroke Treatment Course (Inselspital Bern, University of Bern, Switzerland), 2008.
  • GDC Training Course, Oxford Neurovascular and Neuroradiology Research Unit (Nuffield
  • Department of Surgery, Worcester College, Oxford UK), 2009.
  • Biostatistics (Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen), 2006.

Board member of scientific (inter)national committee/organization

  • Secretary of EBNI (European Board of Neuro Intervention)
  • Board member ex-officio of European Council on Stroke of the European Society of Cardiology on behalf of European Association of Neurosurgical societies, 2020-present
  • Editorial Board Member of Acta Neurochirurgica, 2015-present.
  • Committee member European Association of Neurosugical Societies (EANS) vascular section 2019-present.
  • Member of expert meeting evaluation research agenda “Hartstichting” 2019.
  • Chair of Dutch NeuroVascular Society (Nederlands Neurovasculair Genootschap), 2018-present.
  • Director Dutch Neurosurgical Quality Foundation (Stichting Kwaliteit Neurochirurgie; SKN), 2018-present.
  • Board member of Quality committee of Dutch Society of Neurosurgery, 2011-present.
  • Director of nationwide aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhage quality registry (QRNS SAB), 2013-present.
  • Member Committee National Neurosurgical Research Agenda (Kennisagenda Neurochirurgie 2019)
  • Board member of Research committee of European Association of Neurosurgical Societies (EANS) 2014-2016.
  • Advisory board member of Dutch nationwide patient platform for patients with aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhage (Hersenaneurysma Patienten Platform; HPP), 2017-present.
  • Advisory board member of Radboud patient platform for patients with aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhage (SAB Patiënten AdviesRaad; SPAR), 2019-present.


  • Dutch Guideline “Non Ruptured Intracranial Aneurysm” (Ongeruptureerd intracranieel aneurysma). Chair, 2020.
  • Dutch “Stroke” Guideline (Richtlijn Herseninfarct en hersenbloeding) (Chapter 5.2: “Surgical indications for intracerebral hematomas”). Co-author, 2018.
  • National Quality Document Neurosurgery. (Kwaliteitsnormen Document Neurochirurgie). Co-author, 2020.
  • Dutch Guideline “Arterioveneuze Malformatie”. Chair, in progress.
  • European Stroke Organisation (ESO) – European Society for Minimally Invasive Neurological Therapy (ESMINT) expedited recommendation on intravenous thrombolysis before mechanical thrombectomy in patients with acute ischaemic stroke. Co-author, in progress.